Thursday, December 31, 2009

Happy New Year!

only an hour until 2010.....coming soon in the new year....Destroy L.A. EP?

Wednesday, December 30, 2009

The Imposters-Pool Maintenance 7"

one of the best hardcore albums of the 2000's. great cover, i like the SOA shirt. 1000 pressed of this beast, 30 with a full colour picture, not the one above. 20 test presses, and guess what, I GOT ONE! (well not yet it's coming in the mail. got it from FLAT BLACK RECORDS on ebay, great place for new and old punk, great service). this was released in 2008 on Secret Records which i believe was created by the singer Nickolai. they released a good LP too. their looking to release another 7", but since their label is no more, they're looking for some other label to release it. here's the band's site: SKATE. the a-side is golden on this 7". now time for the tracks.
1. pool maintenance 5/5 (great fast song.)
2. something to prove 5/5 (great song structure.)
3. water supply 4/5 (good.)
4. the wedge 5/5 (first song i heard of these guys and has remained my favourite. great surf song.)
5. no idea 4/5 (don't make assumptions, listen to the song.)
6. conformity 4/5 (nice.)
7. too much hate 4/5 (BASS is sweet.)
8. i want you 4/5 (ha, organ? it is sweet thou.)
overall: 7/10 recommended
buy it from their site listed above, it's cheap. look out for that new 7", hopefully coming soon, HOPEFULLY, i wish.

Tuesday, December 29, 2009

The Freeze-EP 7"

thanks to elliott over at POLITICAL TRENDY (great site, go now!) who made me want to do this post. i do agree that this is amazing, i don't know what the hell this is, but it's amazing. what is this, new wave? it's not hardcore. no mastering at all on this 7". this record was done in no time at all, and by the looks of this record, the cover was done pretty quickly too, but it's great, eh. along with the guilty face 7", this was reissued too, with the same two songs as the original.
1. i hate tourists 4/5 (we all do.)
2. don't forget me tommy 4/5 (what the hell, just listen to it, were else but gbm.)
overall: 8/10 strongly recommended
get the reissue, it's decent.

Sunday, December 27, 2009

The Freeze-Guilty Face 7"

i have to say, i do love the Freeze. their first three 7"s and first two 12"s are great too. unlike most Boston hardcore bands, these guys were not straight edge, i just thought i would throw that out there. you got to love his voice, eh. there was a recent reissue which included two tracks from a Boston compilation.
1. violent arrest 3.5/5 (good, but who the hell is yelling VIOLENT ARREST straight from their throat in the chorus.)
2. voices from my window 5/5 (great, fast song.)
3. halloween night 4/5 (sweet.)
4. guilty face 2.5/5 (stop and go, meh.)
overall: 7/10 recommended
get the reissue on ebay or the download on goodbadmusic (great site.)

X-iles-EP 7"

this was the first 7" i downloaded on kbdrecords and i have liked it ever since. it's not really fast or intense, but you can't be thrashing all the time, right, whatever. this is very obscure and rare. one went on ebay a few weeks ago, and it only went for $32, so what do i know.
1. dreamin-no! 4/5 (great, nice screaming, if that's what you want to call it.)
2. indecision 3.5/5 (good, i just don't like the in-and-out sound through the speakers.)
overall: 7/10 recommended
look on ebay, but it very rarely comes up, arghh!

The Victims-Television Addict 7"

ok, one more kbd record. this is from 77' and the second song is incredibly fast. don't be confused with the crappy Victims band from USA from the same time period. these guys are from Australia.
1. television addict 5/5 (great.)
2. flipped out over you 5/5 (so fast, amazing.)
overall: 10/10 strongly recommended
one on ebay just went for over $200 (it didn't even have a sleeve.)
get a download here: 7"PUNK

The Red Squares-Ottawa Today 7"

ok, another kbd classic. great Canadian 7" from 78'. what can i say, it's great. how come every Canadian punk band sounds like they're from England, their accents (except for the NEOS).
1. ottawa today 4/5 (good, except the chorus.)
2. transmitter 5/5 (great, fast vocals.)
overall: 8/10 strongly recommended
you can only get a download, at kbd (above).

Friday, December 25, 2009


read the title, yep.

Tuesday, December 22, 2009

Neos-Hassibah Gets The Martian Brain Squeeze 7"

finally some great CANADIAN hardcore. man this is the fastest 7" in the world where the drummer isn't just going back and fourth on the hi-hat and snare. 14 short songs are all packed onto this 7". this album along with their first 7" (only 500 presses of each 7") were distributed by their own label "Alandhiscar". the 7"s can with insert sheets that had lyrics, info and even notes on how to play the songs. 1 year later (1983) "Rat Cage Records" re-released this with different songs titles, the music was the same thou. the Neos called it a quits in 1983 (only a 3-year career) with only releasing two 7"s, but they will not be forgotten. this is even more intense then DRI.
1. destruct 5/5 (great opener.)
2. they'll destroy themselves 4/5 (vocals are a little too harsh.)
3. (almost) typical, obligatory anti-government song 5/5 (great slower tempo.)
4. ambitious 5/5 (fantastic vocals)
5. where did you go wrong??? 4/5 (nice guitar.)
6. just like all the rest 4/5 (decent.)
7. look around in despair 4/5 (fast.)
8. conscripts 5/5 (great drum opening, slow then fast.)
9. jungle beat-so it seems 4/5 (can't hear the talking, thou.)
10. other world 4/5 (nice.)
11. opposition to all violence, even if committed in self defense 4/5 (yah.)
12. die for the cause (bobby sands) 4/5 (good.)
13. ripped off again 5/5 (angry yet? great lyrics.)
14. sexual revolution 5/5 (great track, great vocal opening.)
overall: 9.5/10 strongly recommended
the original is very rare. the rat cage repress is easier to get, but still like $50. boy that seemed like a long post, now if you'll excuse me, i have to get to bed, even thou it's only 1:41 pm.

Monday, December 21, 2009

Boogie Nazis

SURF PUNK! they have released a 11 song CD. go to their site for their music and some sweet videos: BOOGIE NOW! best song is: lunch with grandma.
thanks to Ryan (guitar) for the Boogie Nazis info below in the comments.

Saturday, December 19, 2009

7 Seconds-Committed For Life 7"

(((remastered post))) don't get me wrong, i'm a fan of 7 seconds, but after 1986 they should have stopped. when you've released more than 15 records it's time to quit, sorry. back to the album. oh wait, i recommend their record OLD SCHOOL (a demo session from the early 80's but released in 90') just had to say that. ok now back to the album. this is fast and has a bad recording, what more could you ask for? great vocals, you can actually understand the lyrics, unlike most hardcore bands. much better than their previous 7" (skins, guts, blah blah blah).
1. 5 years of lies 5/5 (one of the best hardcore songs out there.)
2. drug control 5/5 (good lyrics, you know why.)
3. bottomless pit 5/5 (fast.)
4. fight your own fight 4/5 (a-side is flawless.)
5. committed for life 5/5 (yes.)
6. this is the angry 4/5 (check out pt. 2 on THE CREW LP.)
7. aggro 5/5 (not one slow part on the entire 7", it's all fast.)
overall: 9.5/10 strongly recommended
7 presses of this 7" so one goes up on eBay every week, all different colour covers, bid hard!

N.V. Boys-Rebellion 7"

here's an extremely weird release. this is from 88' but sounds like 81'. i got this from 1000 ASPIRINES. i've never seen this anywhere besides that site. these guys are from holland but sing in english (BGK comes to mind.)
1. rebellion 5/5 (great opening.)
2. kill your brain 2/5 (not my favourite.)
3. on my own 5/5 (best song, great drumming, great lyrics.)
4. a kids game 4/5 (good guitar and, in and out vocals.)
5. my eyes 2.5/5 (decent.)
6. talking crap 3.5/5 (good ender.)
overall: 8/10 strongly recommended
very rare, just get the download listed above (click on "1000 ASPIRINES" up there, if that needed to be said.)

Adrenalin O.D.-Let's Barbeque 7"

this is pretty great jersey hardcore. it's straight up, all fast. they also appear on NEW YORK THRASH TAPE but sound completely different. what i love a bout this record is their are no added sounds, it's pure. apparently the band could only afford 15 minutes of studio time, sweet. oh and here's the link for this must have: Let's Listen
1. suburbia 4/5 (nice.)
2. old people talk loud 4/5 (true.)
3. trans am. 3/5 (more metal influenced guitar.)
4. house husband 5/5 (great.)
5. mischief night 3/5 (decent.)
6. status symbol 5/5 (fast.)
overall: 7/10 recommended
they only reissued their stuff on CD.

Wednesday, December 16, 2009

Savage Circle-EP 7"

i know nothing about this band except that they were from NY. but i do know that this is a great 7". short, fast songs with good lyrics and echoed vocals. this was reissued by "big city records". the reissue contains two unheard songs on the b-side and moved all the original songs onto the a-side. but even that is hard to find.
1. kill yourself 5/5 (great.)
2. we don't have it 5/5 (you don't.)
3. don't do it 5/5 (really short.)
4. hardcore rules 5/5 (ripping bass.)
5. kill corps 4/5 (fast.)
overall: 9/10 strongly recommended
almost a perfect record, i NEED it.

Sunday, December 13, 2009

Kraut-Kill For Cash 7"

good NY hardcore band. this is their first 7" and everything after this is good too. the first song "kill for cash" has some sort of los lonely boys guitar riff at the beginning that just makes me laugh.
1. kill for cash 4/5 (funny.)
2. true colours 3/5 (good but a little long.)
3. cabbage 5/5 (good lyrics.)
overall: 8/10 strongly recommended
i have no clue on where to get any of their 7" stuff, so i guess you have to search (their first LP is on EBAY and a CD with all their recordings on it, is on AMAZON).

Saturday, December 12, 2009

Bad Religion-EP 7"

some bands don't know when to stop, like bad religion. they have relesased like 20 albums. how could a good band from the 80's hardcore scene later open for bands like blink 182 in the 2000's, awful. back to this record. it's not like most hardcore albums. their not trying to play fast, but mid-tempo. this record is not played with much angry, but it is decent. the a-side is great but the b-side is more lame.
1. bad religion 5/5 (great chorus.)
2. politics 5/5 (fastest song.)
3. sensory overload 5/5 (great song.)
4. slaves 2.5/5 (alright.)
5. drastic actions 0/5 (far to slow and long, no point.)
6. world war III 3/5 (good ender.)
overall: 6.5/10 recommended
after the original 7" release of this, they re-released it as a 12". in 2009 it was reissued on 7" limited to 1,500 but even the reissues go for a lot of the green.

The Faction-Corpse In Disguise 7"

here's the other 7" by the band. however, their NO HIDDEN MESSAGES LP is their best release (it's got their best song "fast food diet" and the original "skate and destroy" on it). the effects make this release in which i mean thee way the symbols and vocals sound. the symbol hits are so light and the vocals have an echo on them.
1. corpse in disguise 2.5/5 (weakest track on here.)
2. friends and enemies 5/5 (great song.)
3. 100 years war 5/5 (great vocals.)
4. skate and destroy (live) 4/5 (why not?)
overall: 7/10 recommended.
like before, only reissued on CD.

The Faction-Yesterday Is Gone 7"

not really what i expected. this record is a bit plain but overall good. a later song they made "skate and destroy" sounds exactly "like room 101." their next two records are good too. a little bit metal-ish on the guitar (in their later years it became more metal-ish, and the songs became over 3:00 unlike these 1:30 songs).
1. room 101 3/5 (good.)
2. enteral plan 3/5 (good music.)
3. black balled 2.5/5 (decent.)
4. yesterday is gone 5/5 (best song. fast--slow--fast--slow.)
5. bullets are faster then words 4/5 (great song. sweet symbol hits.)
overall: 6/10 recommended
their is a CD out there with some of these songs on it, other than that, no reissues.

Thursday, December 10, 2009

Adolescents-Welcome To Reality 7"

this is pretty bad. their first LP is good (well the a-side is). this 7" seems very long and slow. the only song worth listening to is Losing Battle and even that's pretty bad. i guess everything past their first LP (including this 7") is crap. their first 7" has only one song on it 'Amoeba' and the other side is blank (too bad, cause that song isn't very good, it's also on the LP.)
1. welcome to reality 1/5 (speed it up man.)
2. losing battle 3/5 (decent, faster.)
3. things start to move 0/5 (slow, bad.)
overall: 2/10 not recommended
frontier records has reissued it, so if you really want this, their only $7 HERE (or maybe pick up their LP on the same site, i would). one-album-wonders.

Tuesday, December 8, 2009

The Fartz-Because This Fuckin' World Still Stinks 7"

(((remastered post))) i gave this another listen, and it's not that bad, but pretty bad. bad voice.

Monday, December 7, 2009

Necros-EP 7"

(((you missed out on the downloads. go to "can't stand the 80's" blogspot.)))
this is the second release of this great midwest band. this is their fastest stuff. their later LP is pretty good too. these guys hate school and just want to stay home, alone. their first 7" was reviewed on here before. this 7" is also known as IQ32. good lyrics on this release.
1. iq32 5/5 (fast, short.)
2. youth camp 5/5 (great song.)
3. peer pressure 5/5 (best song on here.)
4. race riot 5/5 (don't like the chanting.)
5. wargame 5/5 (fast.)
6. i hate my school 5/5 (great lyrics.)
7. pass comes back to haunt me 5/5 (really fast.)
8. reject 5/5 (good lyrics.)
9. public high school 4/5 (exactly. listen thanks to goodbadmusic.)
overall: 10/10 strongly recommended
this is worth alot of the green.
since i'm not going past $15 for this, now i can say it's on eBay: NECROS-EP 7" .

Sunday, December 6, 2009

Jerry's Kidz-Well Fed Society 7"

enough kbd records, time for some fast hardcore. i downloaded this awhile back because i wanted to hear that's life because i thought it was a cover of Sinatra's song. i soon found of different. yes this jerry's kidz has a z not an s like boston's jerry's kids. in my opinion these new mexico guys are way better than the boston guys. the above picture is the cover of the first pressing, but i like the second pressing cover better. so these guys have a much different style of hardcore. it's fast but with different drum beats and chord changes. i'm not a fan of the stereo sound, because i can't listen to this in one headphone. unfortunately they only released this one great 7". i love this guy's voice, it's so bad that it's good. i recently bidded on this on ebay but lost at $33, but it's gone for much more then that.
1. marionettes 5/5 (great opener, fast.)
2. b.r.s. 5/5 (nice.)
3. that's life 5/5 (fantastic. one of the greatest hardcore songs ever.)
4. d.w.i. 5/5 (great, manic.)
5. insanity 5/5 (great, fast ender.)
overall: 10/10 strongly recommended
wish i had this.

The Doubt-EP 7"

first, i'd like to thank The Flakes//Drummer over at kbdrecords. this is great old school kbd sound. very catchy and it will say in your head for a while. more info here.
1. contract disorder 5/5 (great catchy song.)
2. time out 5/5 (best song on here. great both musically and instrumentally.)
3. fringes 2/5 (bit of a weaker song.)
4. lookaway 2/5 (decent closer.)
overall: 6/10 srecommended
far to expensive however.

Thursday, December 3, 2009

The Genral Foodz-EP 7"

you can thank KBDrecords for this gem. here's another classic kbd record, also with a 60's song cover. this time i like the b-side better. i know nothing else of this band, but if you do, please leave a comment.
1. be so funny 4/5 (great song.)
2. Love potion #9 5/5 (best cover of this song ever.)
overall: 6/10 recommended
if you find it anywhere, pick it up.

Wednesday, December 2, 2009

Cracked Actor-Nazi School 7"

time for some classic KBD records. this is from 77'. it pretty fast for the time. great first song. the second is a cover of "judy in disguise" which i actually enjoy. this is the only release that came from this band.
1. nazi school 5/5 (great song.)
2. judy in disguise 3/5
(decent cover of that famous 60's song.)
overall: 7/10 recommended
no chance to get the original (just like every other record on the site) but some Japanese label just released this 7" (with permission). it's limited to 300, so get yours today.

S.O.A.-No Policy 7"

yes, henry garfield (now rollins) first band. at first listen you will think this is garbage, just like me, but later on i gave it another listen. now i like it. this is very raw. the drummer bearly hits his symbols. the guitar is very tight. the bass it bomming. and the vocals are straignht from the throat. this is all they did, then henry moved to cal. with black flag.
it's all great
1. lost in space 5/5
2. draw blank 5/5
3. girl problems 5/5
4. blackout 5/5
5. gate crashers 5/5
6. warzone 5/5
7. riot 5/5
8. gang fight 5/5
9. public defender 1/5 (too slow.)
10. gonna have to fight 3/5 (not my favourite.)
overall: 9/10 strongly recommended
well that's the last of the old dischord 7"s. (now for something different.)

Government Issue-Legless Bull 7"

here's one of my favourite dischord releases. i love stabb's voice. only limited to 1000 presses so it's pretty rare. only one not so good track and tat is sheer terror. luckily this song is included on their next (also great) LP.
1. religious ripoff 5/5 (great song.)
2. fashionite 5/5 (fast.)
3. rock n rool bullshit 3/5 (good song.)
4. anarchy is dead 5/5 (fastest, crazy good.)
5. sheer terror 1/5 (i don't like the chords, also slow.)
6. asshole 3/5 (decent.)
7. bored to death 3.5/5 (nice, good song.)
8. no rights 3.5/5 (pretty good, all songs pretty much sound the same so.)
9. i'm james dean 5/5 (fast, great lyrics.)
10. cowboy fashion 5/5 (great ender, great drumming.)
overall: 7/10 strongly recommended
a lot of songs for a 7", eh.

Tuesday, December 1, 2009

Youth Brigade-Possible 7"

i said i would post this so. this is the former teen idle nathan's band (dc not la). this album is bad with some exceptions. not worth the money. think of teen idles but worse. their name came from Ian MacKaye saying "it's possible to have and ep."
1. it's about time that we had a change 5/5 (great fast song.)
2. full speed ahead 3/5 (decent.)
3. point of view 3/5 (another decent.)
4. barbed wire 2/5 (nothing.)
5. pay no attention 2/5 (alright.)
6. wrong decision 2/5 (slower.)
7. no song 0/5 (long and bad.)
8. no song II 5/5 (only one second so you can't give it anything else.)
overall: 4/10 not recommended
all old dischord 7"s are tons of money.

Monday, November 30, 2009

The Teen Idles-Minor Disturbance 7"

it's the last day of the month, time for Dischord's first release. this is a decent record, not one of my favourites thou. lots of bass on this. Nathan's voice is also as irritating as ss decontrol's Springa (but they do grow on you). it's a good thing Ian switched to vocals and formed minor threat with Jeff. Nathan went on to form youth brigade (pretty bad band) and they released only one ep as well, which i will review soon.
1. teen idles 5/5 (best song, fast. too bad the rest of the record doesn't sound this good.)
2. sneakers 1.5/5 (weak song, slow too.)
3. get up and go 2/5 (what is this, the ramones.)
4. deadhead 3.5/5 (decent song, weird sound on the break down.)
5. fleeting fury 4/5 (good, faster.)
6. fiorucci nightmare 5/5 (yes, back to the great stuff.)
7. getting in the way 5/5 (it bleeds with the song above, so it's pretty much the same song, therefore 5/5.)
8. minor disturbance (too young to rock) 1/5 (bad live track.)
overall: 5/10 lightly recommended
better than a lot of hardcore records out there, but not nearly the best. you would have to spend tons to get the original 7", so get the 12".

Tuesday, November 24, 2009

Why No Downloads?

all these releases can be found somewhere on the internet so no point in putting them on this website and claiming them as my own rips.

Wednesday, November 18, 2009

Minor Threat-In My Eyes 7"

yesterday was my birthday so i'm posting my favourite band again, MINOR THREAT. great 7" here. only thing i don't like is the sound of stepping stone. it's really kind of quiet at any volume (it's weird, good song thou). i have to go now, so i'll keep this short.
1. in my eyes 4/5 (vocals are decent. you'll see what i mean.)
2. out of step (with the world) 5/5 (possibly the best minor threat song.)
3. guilty of being white 5/5 (ian is NOT racist. read the lyrics, "i'm guilty of being white" don't judge me by the colour of my skin. it's so CLEAR!)
4. stepping stone 3/5 (good, but the sound.)
overall: 8/10 strongly recommended
get the 12" (much cheaper).

Thursday, November 12, 2009

this post sucks

this post sucked so i erased it.

Wednesday, November 11, 2009

Bum Kon-Drunken Sex Sucks 7"

this is the biggest picture that i could find of this great (thrash?) record. there was a great little colorado hardcore scene along with "frantix" and "white trash." they didn't release much after this, but all their recordings can be found on the recently pressed "drunken sex sucks" 12". alright.
1. bum kon 5/5 (too short to be bad.)
2. locked away 4/5 (nice slower thrashing.)
3. drunken sex sucks 4/5 (great.)
4. the draft 5/5 (#3 blends into this masterpiece.)
5. slow death 1/5
overall: 7/10 recommended (but impossible to get.)
so get the 12" only bad song on their is "slow death".

Tuesday, November 10, 2009

Meat Puppets-EP 7"

great hardcore record. very talented musicians. all the drum beats are the same, du ta du ta du ta. i guess that's it, oh wait, i haven't listened to anything of theirs past this, so.
1. in a car 3/5 (decent.)
2. big house 5/5 (excellent vocals and music.)
3. dolphin field 4/5 (raging vocals.)
4. out in the garden 4/5 (spongebob squarepants.)
5. foreign lawns 3/5 (good closer. nice tempo.)
overall: 8/10 strongly recommended
copies on eBay go for like 30 bucks (a little to much $ for me).

School Jerks-EP 7"

((remastered post)) good punk from toronto's school jerks (2008). not much to say, sounds a lot like the first bands starting out back in the 80's. not too slow, not too fast. you can visit their band site here: and get their 7". look out for their new 7" coming soon. ((their new 7" is out now so go get it at their myspace page.))
1. nothing else 5/5 (great opener.)
2. stray 5/5 (fastest song on here.)
3. passed out 5/5 (surprising.)
overall: 10/10 strongly recommended

Friday, November 6, 2009

Lognhalsmottagningen-Oron Nasa 7"

(((remastered post. i scanned in my copy of the cover. mine's #168/300, how bout you?))) great NEW (2008) hardcore from sweden. try and pronounce the name (even hard to pronounce for swedes). only two different people on this album, one for vocals, and one for all the instruments. this album is all treble, the bass sounds like another guitar. apparently they're in the process of making a 40 song LP, wow. i'm in the process of trying to get this album (kbd).
i don't know what any of this means (language).
1. svenssonliv 5/5 (great opening song.)
2. kola a stalar 5/5 (yes.)
3. javlar igen 5/5 (nice.)
4. bodybuilder 5/5 (best song on here. fast, powerful.)
5. snacka gar ju 5/5 (great song.)
6. va e poangen 5/5 (slower, but not that slow.)
7. sicken skit 5/5 (decent ender to a great album.)
overall: 10/10 strongly recommended
this 7" was released on 4 labels, two in sweden and two in usa. it was limited to 300 copies and was soon sold out. there are some spare copies floating around so get them while they're cheaper. (i got a feeling this will become a rare kbd record in the distant future)
below is a link to their first show at popfest. the song is "bodybuilder" and from their you can get the rest of the show. the singer hadn't even learned the lyrics yet, he's holding a lyric sheet. also he messes up the timing on most of the songs (it's great).

Thursday, November 5, 2009

Best Websites

hey, here are some great websites.
great download sites.
great punk info
read old punk zines for FREE

Zero Boys-Livin' In The 80's 7"

this is surprisingly bad. all the songs sound exactly like the ramones (crap). the zero boys next two albums are GOLDEN. definitely pick up their other albums but not this one.

1. livin' in the 80's 0/5
2. stoned to death 0/5
3. stick to your guns 0/5
4. i'm bored 0/5
5. a piece of me 0/5

overall: 0/10 strongly not recommeded
(if you like the ramones, then you should pick this up, for about $500.)

Stains-John Wayne Was A Nazi 7"

yes this is MDC. first called stains but changed their name to MDC because of LA's stains. well some great stuff here. actually, half of the records say MDC-stains on them and the others just say stains. their next two releases and comp tracks are pretty good too. these two songs appear on their LP as well but different versions. "john wayne was a nazi" is better on the LP and "born to die" is better on this 7". their still going today (big mistake).
1. john wayne was a nazi 3/5 (good song but better version on their LP.)
2. born to die 5/5 (great song, much better version than the one on their LP. the LP version is actually too FAST, you can't understand what he's saying, i didn't even know it was the same song.)
overall: 7/10 recommended (but good luck, their going for over $500.)

Minutemen-Paranoid Time 7"

well, minutemen or the minutemen, put out a decent first 7". this stuff is gold. his is their fastest stuff, it's pretty short too (but all their stuff is). their next album is good, and double nickels on the dime, but the other stuff is forgettable. so.
1. validation 5/5 (good fast. weird stopping points.)
2. the maze 5/5 (the guitar kind of gets annoying.)
3. definition 5/5 (first half, nothing, second half, good.)
4. sickles and hammers 5/5 (great instrumental song.)
5. fascist 5/5 (best song on here. really crazy.)
5. joe McCarty's ghost 5/5 (nice.)
6. paranoid chant 5/5 (good instruments.)
overall: 10/10 strongly recommended
thanks to sst records you can buy this 7" the exact same way it looked back then. (same codes even.)

Wednesday, November 4, 2009

Bad Brains-Pay To Cum! 7"

great band, musically. not a fan of their views, but this album was out way before that. i recommend their s/t album as well. once they started doing more reggae songs and grew long dreadlocks i lost interest. there are several versions of the song "pay to cum!" out there and i like this one the best. my god, this record has to be one of the most expensive 7"s out there. they're going for over $2000, crazy.

1. pay to cum! 5/5 (great song and best version.)
2. stay close to me 3/5 (kind of a weird song by them, it's pretty good though. i can't define the genre.)
overall 7.5/10 recommended for just "pay to cum!"
i just bought one for $10 (yeah, a bootleg, but it looks like the original.)

Friday, October 9, 2009

Beastie Boys-Polly Wog Stew 7"

yes, the beastie boys, before their hip-hop crap. the beastie boys started has a punk band that worshiped the bad brains (Beastie Boys-Bad Brains, same initials.) not much to say, its a good album. i can't listen to it really loud or it kills my ears. so much treble and the singer's high voice.
1. Beastie Boys 5/5 (great, fast, tight.)
2. Transit Cop 5/5 (good vocals.)
3. Jimi 1/5 (useless.)
4. Holy Snappers 5/5 (aggression.)
5. Riot Fight 5/5 (fasted song, therefore the best.)
6. Ode To... 2.5/5 (decent.)
7. Michelle's Farm 3/5 (good opening with all the farm sounds.)
8. Egg Raid On Mojo 3/5 (good.)
overall: 8/10 strongly recommended
i've been trying to get this record but i keep getting out-bid.
only available on ebay (i guess).

Thursday, October 8, 2009

The Dicks-Peace? 7"

here's another name for you to forget, but once again a great release. along with MDC and the big boys, the dicks made the texas hardcore punk scene. everything up to and including this record is good punk. only one more record was released after this and it has more longer "blues" songs (that's why i've neglected to listen to it.). all these songs center around the reasons for war (the dicks were against war, well the singer was anyway). they remind me of the band "big boys" because of all the different genres of music they play. also, they were almost 30 years old while playing in the band (pretty old for hardcore).
1. No Fuckin' War 2/5 (really slow but decent song. the 5 minutes just fly by.)
2. Nobody Asked Me 5/5 (great fast song.)
3. I Hope You Get Drafted 5/5 (get the album just for this song. not the chorus though.)
overall: 6.5/10 recommended (worth it just for the b-side.)
some reissues, but someone always puts an original up for auction on ebay (like every other week. so go for that.)

Koro-EP 7"

ok forget about the name, this is a great release. it's a lot like poison idea's first album, but with a better singer. a lot of people claim that the album was sped up during the recordings. it most likely wasn't (but extremely fast). even if it was who cares, the faster the song the better.
they were only together for 2 years and would have be forgotten if it weren't for this record.
1. 700 Club 5/5 (huge build-up.)
2. Selfless Johnny 5/5 (fasted and tightest song on here.)
3. It's OK 3/5 (it's ok)
4. Government 3.5/5 (all over the place.)
5. Dear Sirs 5/5 (great guitar riffs.)
6. Blap! 4/5 (fast and i think a little cowbell.)
7. Nauseous 2/5 (nauseous listening to it.)
8. Acid Casualty 5/5 (they stop and start the song about 4 times.)
overall: 7/10 recommended
tons of bootlegs (even recent reissues, so get that.)

Tuesday, September 29, 2009

Absurd-EP 7"

golden album. every song fast and sloppy with manic vocals. swedish so i don't know what he's saying but it doesn't matter. that's it.
1. Blodig Stad 5/5
2. Fred Pa Jorden 5/5
3. Bojkotta Coca Cola 5/5
4. Statens Maktspel 5/5
5. Anarki Nu! 5/5
overall: 10/10 strongly recommended
only about 200 released so closest thing you can get is a download.

Tuesday, September 22, 2009

The Sack-O'-Woes/Baby, I'm Born Old 7"

hey Dylan can you help me out with this one.
alright, this is probably the newest record that will ever be on this site. it was recorded in 2005. but it's good so. the band is not really well known, but if you contact them i believe you can get this record.
1. Baby I'm Born Old 3/5 (not the best song.)
2. The Men With Bogart's Face 5/5 (great song. good guitar.)
3. Afterlife 5/5
(best song on here. great chord changes.)
overall: 7/10 recommended
if you find it somewhere, GET IT!

Monday, September 21, 2009

Poison Idea

brutal hardcore!

Boston Hardcore

negative fx!

Agnostic Front-United Blood 7"

that's right, it was agnostic front. so, i've got no clue what this album is. it's so intense. when i first heard this record i listened to it nonstop. then i wandered off it. but lately i've been listening to it and found out why i played it so much in the first place. good, fast record. their second record "victim in pain" is really good as well. their third album "cause for alarm" is decent but anything after that isn't very to good. back to this record. the songs are really short (sometimes even complicated).
1. No One Rules 5/5 (huge "GO" at the beginning to start of the album.)
2. Final War 4/5 (most intense song.)
3. Last Warning 4/5 (good build up.)
4. Traitor 5/5 (fast.)
5. Friend or Foe 5/5 (great song.)
6. United Blood 5/5 (best song on here. slow-fast.)
7. Fight 4/5 (14 seconds long. every song should be this long.)
8. Discriminate 4/5 (nice.)
9. In Control 5/5 (AH.)
10. Crucial Changes 4/5 (singer, right at the end "blah".)
overall: 8.5/10 recommended, this album is pretty much one big song. most songs sound the same, but no complaints.
(i listened to this record about 50 times while writing this review, 51)

Sunday, September 20, 2009

Who Is This?

do you know who this is?
comeback tomorrow for the answer.